Share via...

EIZO, HyperX, and Razer are proud to join DreamHack in presenting the DreamHack Open 2014 Tour with six live StarCraft® II: Heart of the Swarm® tournaments across Europe. The best Starcraft II pro-gamers from around the globe will have the opportunity to compete for a total of $200,000 being awarded as well as earn their place in esports history as the next DreamHack Open Champion.

DreamHack Open 2014 will feature the same core format that fans and players have come to know and love in the 2013 year; including completely open sign-ups as well as the much praised final eight players show. With a newly added stop in Moscow, each DreamHack Open stop will qualify four players to the tour-ending Grand Finals hosted at DreamHack Winter. To make it to the final championship at DreamHack Winter, every single player will need to prove themselves at a live tour stop. More information on the format can be seen on the infographic below.

DreamHack Open had an explosive ending in 2013 with Team Liquid’s TaeJa concluding a year of domination with a victory over StarTale’s Life. We are very excited to see how the stories will unfold in 2014.” says DreamHack CEO, Robert Ohlén “Of course none of this would be possible without the support of our sponsors, so we are thrilled to welcome back EIZO and HyperX, as well as welcome Razer and thank them for making 2014 the biggest year for DreamHack Open yet.

The full list of dates, tournament format, and broadcast details can be found below. DreamHack Bucharest signups have already begun, so click here to get your name in to participate in the first stop of DreamHack Open 2014!


DreamHack Bucharest

26-27 April, Sala Polivalenta, Bucharest, Romania

DreamHack Summer 2014

14-16 June, Elmia, Jönköping, Sweden

DreamHack Valencia

18-19 July, Feria de Valencia, Valencia, Spain

DreamHack Moscow

13-14 September, Stadium Live, Moscow, Russia

DreamHack Stockholm

26-27 September, Stockholm Globe Arenas, Stockholm, Sweden

DreamHack Winter 2014

27-29 November, Elmia, Jönköping, Sweden


For 2014, DreamHack Open will feature a very similar circuit format to 2013. Each Open tour stop will feature sign-up for open participation of up to 96 players, a mixture of professionals as well as amateurs. All competitors will compete in 3 group stages to narrow down to 16 players, and from here the competition will become single elimination best of 3, with a best of 5 grand finals. An important note is this year we will align with the StarCraft II World Championship Series (WCS) system, and shift from using round-robin group stage format to dual tournament group stage format. We are proud to continue partnership with Blizzard Entertainment and the StarCraft II WCS competition in offering 4,000 WCS points for every DreamHack Open Tour stop. The top four players of each open tour stop will qualify to the DreamHack Open Grand Finals to be hosted at DreamHack Winter 2014.

Total Prize Money : $200,000

DreamHack Open Tour Stops

Bucharest – Summer – Valencia – Stockholm – Moscow

Total: $25,000 and 4,000 WCS Points, top 4 qualify to DreamHack Winter Grand Finals

  • 1st place: $10,000
  • Runner-up: $5,000
  • 3rd/4th: $3,000
  • 5th-8th: $1,000

DreamHack Open Grand Finals at DreamHack Winter

Total: $75,000

  • 1st place: $30,000
  • Runner-up: $15,000
  • 3rd: $10,000
  • 4th: $6,000
  • 5th/6th: $4,000
  • 7th/8th: $3,000


From April 26-27th, DreamHack will return to Sala Polivalenta for the second year. In 2013 DreamHack Bucharest featured what may have been the most stacked open tournament the StarCraft community saw in 2013, and we are very excited to return. Be sure to sign-up today to guarantee your spot in the competition, or purchase a spectator pass to catch all the action live from the audience.

Sign-up to compete here.

Purchase a spectator pass here.

The official hotel for DreamHack Bucharest is the Intercontinental Hotel, find details for booking rooms at preferential rates here. For information on travelling to the event, information can be found here.